Many cases of accidents happening on the road are due to driving while under the influence of alcohol. If you were a mature person, then you must be aware about your responsibility when driving. Are you not informed that you are not allowed to drive when you are drunk? Pretty sure that you know this even before you were issued a driver’s license. But, how come there are still those people, who do not follow this rule? Are they not afraid of car crash accidents? Are they not afraid of the law because they can be arrested because of this?
If you are from Texas and had been drinking while you are driving, then you will be subject to penalties. We call this criminal offense as a DWI or driving while intoxicated. It could be under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs. Depending on your case, it can range from minor to a serious lawful consequences. When you are caught, then you will be asked for a Blood Alcohol Concentration or BAC to define your level of intoxication.
The Law of Texas defines DWI in two diverse ways. First, you do not have the use of your mental and physical abilities normally because of the drug or alcohol consumption. And the other one, is your BAC of 0.08% and up. The police officers will conduct an investigation and if found intoxicated, then you will be arrested. Now, you have to call for DWI lawyers Houston law firms available in town. If you are not sure about where the law firm is located, then go here and this link will show you the map. This is the easiest way to find their address and contact number.
The DWI Penalties
For the First offense that you were convicted with DWI, you will be fined up to $2,000. You will be spending 3 to 180 days in prison. You will also lose your driver’s license for up to 1 year. And then, you will be paying an annual fee for 3 consecutive years, ranging from $1000 to $2000 to get your license back.
If it is your Second offense for a DWI case, you will be fined up to $4,000. You will be spending 1 month to 1 year in prison. You will also lose your driver’s license for up to 2 years. And then, you will be paying an annual fee of $1000, $1500 or it could be $2000 for 3 consecutive years, to get your license back.
And then for your Third offense, you will be fined with $10,000. You will be spending 2 to 10 years in prison. You will also lose your driver’s license for up to 2 years. And then, you will be paying an annual fee of $1000, $1500 or it could be $2000 for 3 consecutive years, to get your license back.
Minors caught for DWI
If your age is below 21, then you are a minor. As a minor, you are not also allowed to drive while you are intoxicated. This is prohibited by law, so police officers will catch you and you need to be responsible for your actions.
A minor, caught for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs then you will face various consequences. If it is your first offense, then you pay fines, lose your right to drive, you need to enroll in any alcohol education classes, you will do a community service, you will need to install an ignition interlock device in your motor and there is probation given.
Refusing a Chemical Test
When you are caught or suspected of a DWI offense, then you have to undergo a chemical test, especially if a police officer asked you to do so. Refusing to do this chemical test will lead to you to the loss of your driver’s license.
Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days up to two years. This suspension is not the same suspension of driver’s license because of the DWI offense. But, before the suspension happens, you will be given an administrative case about a suspension of driver’s license. You will be given 15 days to this administrative request. It would be best to get an attorney for any advice.